Menu
Log in


Log in

ISQOLS WEBINAR: "How Was Life? New Perspectives on Well-being and Global Inequality since 1820"

  • 10 Jun 2021
  • 7:00 AM (PDT)
  • Online Webinar

Registration

  • The webinar is free for all participants.

Registration is closed

ISQOLS WEBINAR:

"How Was Life? New Perspectives on Well-being and Global Inequality since 1820"


Thursday

June 10; 07:00am PST/

10:00am EST/

04:00pm, 16:00 CEST


FREE 

How was life in 1820, and how has it improved since then? What are the long-term trends in global well-being? Views on social progress since the Industrial Revolution are largely based on historical national accounting in the tradition of Kuznets and Maddison. But trends in real GDP per capita may not fully re­flect changes in other dimensions of well-being such as life expectancy, education, personal security or gender inequality. Looking at these indicators usually reveals a more equal world than the picture given by incomes alone, but has this always been the case? The two How Was Life? reports, published by the OECD in 2014 and 2021, address these questions by providing and analyzing long-run estimates of wide range of wellbeing indicators, including both country averages as well as within-country inequalities. The presentation will include a global overview and synthesis by the reports' editors as well as an in-depth look at inequality in longevity over time.


Presenters: Marco Mira d'Ercole (OECD), Jan Luiten van Zanden (Utrecht University), Auke Rijpma (Utrecht University), Lamar Crombach (ETH Zürich)






The International Society for Quality-of-Life Studies (ISQOLS)

Email:

office@isqols.org

Address:

ISQOLS

P.O. Box 118

Gilbert, AZ 85299

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software