Menu
Log in


Member Login:

Log in

ISQOLS Webinar, "Money does not always buy happiness, but are richer people less happy in their daily lives?"

  • 30 Nov 2022
  • 11:00 AM (EST)
  • Online Webinar

Registration

  • The webinar is free for all participants.

Register

ISQOLS WEBINAR:

"Money does not always buy happiness, but are richer people less happy in their daily lives? 

It depends on how you analyze income"


WEDNESDAY

November 30th

9:00am MST/11:00am EST/5:00pm CET


Do people who have more money feel happier during their daily activities? Some prior research has found no relationship between income and daily happiness when treating income as a continuous variable in OLS regressions, although results differ between studies. We re-analyzed existing data from the United States and Germany, treating household income as a categorical variable and using lowess and spline regressions to explore nonlinearities. Our analyses reveal that these methodological decisions change the results and conclusions about the relationship between income and happiness.


Presented by: Laura Kudrna


Laura Kudrna is an Assistant Professor in the Institute of Applied Health Research at the University of Birmingham. Her main research interests are in applying psychological and behavioural principles to drive health and wellbeing improvements for individuals and communities. She has specific interests in income, workplaces, and inequalities. Prior to joining Birmingham, she spent seven years at the London School of Economics (MSc Social Research Methodology, PhD Social Policy) and held a post-doctoral post at Warwick Medical School where she contributed to a cluster randomised controlled trial with small to mediums sized enterprises..






The International Society for Quality-of-Life Studies (ISQOLS)

Email:

office@isqols.org

Address:

ISQOLS

P.O. Box 118

Gilbert, AZ 85299

Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software